Manx Short Mat Bowls Association

Douglas Sharks claim Haldane Fisher Title

Collin Holland, Seamus Whelan, Michael Collister & Stephen Gale of the Douglas Sharks produced a dominant display in the final three games in the Haldane Fisher league to take the title from Ronaldsway Rockets.

The Rockets started the day 3 points clear at the top but suffered a 6-5 loss to Ballaugh with Tony Quine producing some great bowls as skip to get their first win in the league. The Sharks took their chance well, beating Erin Elite 12-3 to go level on points with the Rockets at the top.

Douglas Sharks then had to face Ballaugh but made sure they didn’t slip up, coming through with an impressive 17-1 victory while Ronaldsway Rockets got back on track after a hard fought 11-7 win over Erin Elite.

In the final set of games the top two faced each other with the winner set to be crowned champions. The in-form Sharks raced to an early 6-0 lead with the Rockets getting a point on the fourth end but the Sharks then scored a 2 and an excellent 5 on the next two ends before another 2 on the penultimate end put the title out of reach for the Rockets. Meanwhile Erin Elite consolidated 3rd place with a 12-6 win over Ballaugh.

The final standings were:
[standings league_id=7 template=extend-bowls logo=false]

Next week sees Seamus Whelan, Jayne Smith, Chris Holland & Stephen Gale travel to Bromsgrove to compete in the Short Mat Players Tour English Masters. Anyone can follow the action at The Cherry Orchard League will resume on the 14th February at Ballaugh Bowling Club from 1pm – 5pm. For more information please visit

Upcoming Events

Manx Challenge Shield

From: 25 Apr 2020 10:00
To: 26 Apr 2020 18:00