Manx Short Mat Bowls Association

Ronaldsway Fours

A dominant display of bowling saw Jayne Smith, Josh Ffrench, Michael Collister & Stephen Gale take the Ronaldsway Fours title last Sunday at the NSC.

A total of four teams competed so a round robin was played and Gale’s quartet got off to the perfect start with a 13-3 victory over David Cottier, Ann Hollingworth, Rita Woodworth & Pauline Kelly. The other game of round one saw Collin Holland, Peter Coward, Seamus Whelan & Chris Holland beat Jill Quayle, Richard Faragher, Moira Anderson & John Jauncey 7-5.

The second round of games saw Gale’s team continue their good form, this time with a 13-1 win against Jauncey side, unfortunately for Holland’s quartet they lost by one point to Kelly’s team 7-6, after conceding a 6 on the penultimate end.

That defeat for Holland meant that only a heavy defeat for Gale’s side would stop them becoming champions and after racing into a 7-1 lead after fours ends in the final round of games it became increasingly unlikely. Holland’s team managed to fight back but Gale’s quartet kept their 100% record, winning the final game 8-6.  In the other game of the final round, Jauncey’s side recorded their first win of the day with an 11-7 victory against Kelly’s  team.

Next week sees the Cherry Orchard League return with Ronaldsway Blockbusters facing Laxey Minors, Colby Cosmos play Castletown Super Threes and Ramsey Rebels are against Ballaugh.

Upcoming Events

Manx Challenge Shield

From: 25 Apr 2020 10:00
To: 26 Apr 2020 18:00