Manx Short Mat Bowls Association

Holland takes the Ann Hollingworth Triples title with last bowl

The Ann Hollingworth Triples competition was held last Sunday at the NSC with Seamus Whelan, Chris Holland & Collin Holland taking the title with the very last bowl.

Final – As It Happened

Point Total End Point Total
1 1 one
3 4 two
4 three 1 1
4 four 1 2
4 five 4 6
4 six 2 8
4 8 seven 8
8 eight 1 9
8 total 7

The eventual champions had a tough start against Eddie Brew, James Teare & Harry Minor which also went down to the wire, with Holland’s team coming out as 6-4 victors. David Cottier, Michael Collister & Stephen Gale were convincing 17-3 winners in the other game against Katlyn Moore,Georgine Moore & Josh Ffrench.

In the second round of games Holland’s team defeated Ffrench’s side 11-3 to keep their 100% record. Gale’s trio also won there game against Minor’s triples 11-2 to face a showdown for the title against Holland’s team.

The final round of games saw Gale’s side take an early lead but a run of 4 ends without reply for Holland saw them stretch out a 4 point lead. However Gale came back on the penultimate end with a 4 to level the scores going into the last end and with Michael Collister holding the shot it was up to Holland to promote his own bowl just enough to take the shot and the title.

Next week sees a return to the Haldane Fisher League with Douglas Sharks playing Colby Cosmos and Ronaldsway Rockets facing Port Erin.