Manx Short Mat Bowls Association

Ronaldsway Fours

Ann Gale, Dave McTaggart, Chris Holland & Collin Holland won back the Ronaldsway Fours title on Sunday after a hard fought round robin left three teams on the same points.

The day started with Holland’s team beating Archie Collister, Wyn Collister, Stephen Durcan & Bernie Durcan 10-3. There main challengers seemed to be Eddie Brew, Harry Minor, Michael Collister & Stephen Gale after they won their opening game 11-2 against Matt Quayle, Rita Woodworth, Ann Hollingworth & Sylvia Maddrell.

In the second round of game Maddrell’s team hit back, defeating the eventual champions 7-4 thanks to a cracking last wood by Sylvia Maddrell. With Gale’s team beating Durcan’s fours by 12-6 it put them in control of the competition.

Holland’s team knew they had to win by more than 4 points and managed to get to a 9-3 lead with one end remaining, and with Gale’s team holding 5 Holland play a perfect wood to take the shot and the title. Maddrell’s team won there last game 14-6 but it wasn’t enough to overtake Gale & Holland.

The final standings are below:

Team Points Chalks + Chalks – Chalks Diff
Ann Gale, Chris Holland, Dave McTaggart, Collin Holland 4 28 14 +14
Eddie Brew, Harry Minor, Michael Collister, Stephen Gale 4 26 18 +8
Matt Quayle, Rita Woodworth, Ann Hollingworth, Sylvia Maddrell 4 23 21 +2
Archie Collister, Stephen Durcan, Wyn Collister, Bernie Durcan 0 16 40 -24

Next week is the Cherrty Orchard League with the top two, Ronaldsway Blockbusters & Douglas Bay Pirates playing each other. Peel Musketters play Laxey Minors, Colby Cosmos face Port Erin New Kids and Ballaugh meet Andreas.